Remembrance Day Sentry Program Selection Announced

The selection of the 2021 members of the Remembrance Day Sentry Program has been announced by the Acting Chief of the Defence Staff, General Wayne D. Eyre.

The Remembrance Day Sentry Program was created in 1998 to publicly recognize outstanding Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) members from both the Regular and the Reserve Force, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), for their dedication, professionalism, and performance in service to Canada.

Six CAF members and one RCMP officer received the distinction of being chosen from all those nominated across the country to play an important role during this year’s national Remembrance Day ceremony in Ottawa.

Program participants have been honored with this important ceremonial duty based on criteria such as deployment experience, community involvement, physical fitness, and their record of conduct.

The following personnel have been selected to form the vigil for the event this year:

Royal Canadian Navy Sentry Commander: Petty Officer Second Class Jacob Russell, Personnel Coordination Centre (Pacific), Esquimalt, B.C.
Canadian Army Sentry: Corporal Justin George, 1 Combat Engineer Regiment, Edmonton, Alta.
Royal Canadian Air Force Sentry: Corporal William Jodoin, 21 Aerospace Control & Warning Squadron, North Bay, Ont.
Special Operations Forces Sentry: Master Corporal Dany Drapeau-Guay, Canadian Special Operations Training Centre, Petawawa, Ont.
Military Personnel Command Nursing Officer Sentry: RCN Lieutenant Debra Fredericks, Canadian Forces Trauma Training Centre (West), Vancouver, B.C.
RCMP Sentry: Corporal Rielly Knock, F Division, Saskatoon, Sask.
Special Guest of the Acting Chief of the Defence Staff: Corporal Nick Kerr, Canadian Armed Forces Transition Group, Edmonton, Alta.

Related posts